Reporting and Assessment Information for Parents

Dear Parents and Guardians,

We are pleased to announce that to strengthen consistency and to help you follow your child’s progress more closely, we will be changing our grading system for end of term reports. We are introducing, in Years 3 to 6 in Primary and across the Secondary School, the 1 to 7 assessment scale that is used with our IB students.  This means that in end of term reports students in all these year groups will receive a level for their academic attainment which will range from 7 (the highest) to 1 (the lowest).  The general descriptors are:

Level 7             Excellent attainment

Level 6             Very good attainment

Level 5             Good attainment

Level 4             Satisfactory attainment

Level 3             Less than satisfactory attainment

Level 2             Poor attainment

Level 1             Very poor attainment

Each of these levels will be appropriate for the age group of the students concerned and in Primary tied to the block targets for the particular term. KG and Year 1 and 2 reports will continue with the present structure.

As with the IB Diploma, a Level 4 is considered a passing grade and concerns will be raised if a student falls below this.  This is now reflected in our milepost years and further information will be shared with parents of students in Years 6, 8, 9 and 11.

Effort for these year groups will be measured on a separate scale. The descriptors for these will be shown on the individual reports.

We are sure you will find these changes easier to understand and helpful in following your child’s progress.

Kind regards,

Mr Darren Sibley                                                                                                                  Mr Paul Toomer

Head of Primary                                                                                                                      Head of Secondary

Download (PDF, 307KB)

Comments are closed.